100 word challenge by Thomas

I walked dawdling on the uneven, cobbled path. I put my hand on the dirty handle, it abruptly turned black. I pushed hard and a big thud echoed through the house as the door hit the wall. Stood in front of me was a colossal, brown cupboard. I stepped closer to the cupboard, and when I opened the cupboard door it was black. I put my hand inside and it seemed to go Forever. I pulled my hand out and closed the door. I was about to walk away when the door re-opened. It had one small box, and inside was a note.

2 thoughts on “100 word challenge by Thomas

  1. Thomas, I enjoyed reading your 100 word challenge this week, good use of the prompt.
    I wonder who had left the box in the cupboard and what the note said? I like the fact that you use the words ‘abruptly’ and ‘colossal’.
    Keep up the great work, well done.

    Team 100 wc.

  2. I really love the opening sentence, it places me right in the story and on the uneven cobbled path. The move then to telling me about the handle is too abrupt–I don’t know what handle you are telling me about. But you then take me into this strange echoing space and the big cupboard that goes on forever and I am very engaged in your story. But why did you walk away? and of course, what does the note say? Peter Reason (Team 100)

Leave a comment